## Resolution No. 2024-2

## RESOLUTION OF THE BOARD OF CHAUTAUQUA COUNTY COMMISSIONERS AUTHORIZING PARTICIPATION IN RURAL OPPORTUNITY ZONE STUDENT LOAN REPAYMENT PROGRAM

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS

OF CHAUTAUQUA COUNTY, KANSAS,

**Section 1.** Pursuant to K.S.A. 2022 Supp. 74-50,223, the Board of County Commissioners expressed its intent to participate in the Rural Opportunity Zone (ROZ) student loan repayment program.

**Section 2.** Chautauqua County has been designated a Rural Opportunity Zone pursuant to K.S.A. 2022 Supp. 74-50,222.

- **Section 3.** Chautauqua County Commissioners hereby obligate Chautauqua County to participate in the ROZ student loan repayment program as provided by K.S.A. 2022 Supp. 74-50,223 for a period of five years, which shall be irrevocable.
- **Section 4.** Chautauqua County agrees to pay in equal shares with the State of Kansas the outstanding student loan balance of any resident individual for five years, if the resident individual meets the terms of qualification provided by the State of Kansas in K.S.A. 2022 Supp. 74-50,223, and the appropriate rules and regulations. The number of qualified resident individuals receiving such payments will be subject to the availability of funds.
- **Section 5.** Chautauqua County intends to enter into partnerships with Employers for the direct sponsorship of Rural Opportunity Zone Applicants. Sponsored Applicants must meet all qualifications of the ROZ program. All sponsorships will be subject to ROZ student loan repayment rules and regulations.
- **Section 6.** The maximum student loan balance for each qualified resident individual to be repaid jointly by Chautauqua County and the State of Kansas shall be \$15,000 over a term of five years.
- **Section 7.** Chautauqua County shall allocate \$1500.00 for the purpose of matching payments from the State of Kansas to qualified resident individuals. Chautauqua County shall revise its ROZ budget on an annual basis and shall inform the State of Kansas of any changes to the annual allocation.

Adopted this	day of	January	2024, by the Board of Chautauqua County Commissioners,
Chautauqua County, Ka	ansas.		

BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS OF OF CHAUTAUQUA COUNTY, KANSAS

Parker Massey, Commissioner, First District

Rodney Shaw, Commissioner, Second District

David Deal, Commissioner, Third District

ATTEST:

Niki Collier, County Clerk