District Court


District courts are the trial courts of Kansas with the power to preside over all civil and criminal cases, including divorce and domestic relations, damage suits, probate and administration of estates, guardianships, conservatorship cases, care of the mentally ill, juvenile matters, and small claims. It is here that the criminal and civil jury trials are held. The district court also has appellate jurisdiction for municipal courts and most administrative agencies.


Kansas is divided into judicial districts, with varying numbers of judges in each district. There is a district court in each county, and an office of the clerk of the court where cases may be filed. Chautauqua County is part of the 14th Judicial District in Kansas. A district judge has been appointed as chief judge for each judicial district. The chief judge, in addition to his or her judicial responsibilities, has general control over the assignment of cases within the district, and general supervisory authority over the clerical and administrative functions of the court. District court judges must be attorneys. Some counties have district magistrate judges, who may or may not be attorneys, and whose jurisdiction is limited. There is at least one resident judge in each county.

Probation Officers

Jon Kirk

Court Services Officer

(620) 725-5874

Dennis Webb

Intensive Supervision Officer

(620) 330-2788